Classic Tomato Risotto

I love making risotto. It’s such a beautiful variation if you don’t really want a traditional pasta. The secret to making a perfect risotto is by adding hot stock in very gradually and combining them slowly, making sure the rice gets fully absorbed before adding the next ladelful. You want your risotto to just be al-dente, which basically means it’s just slightly undercooked. Good risotto takes time to make, so don’t rush it and it will pay off in the end.

This is a nice classic style of risotto with a tomato and cheese sauce. I also added a nice piece of parmesan crusted chicken to go with this. Please forgive me for the pictures, there isn’t too many and the ones that I had for this were definitely not my finest!

INGREDIENTS

  • 3T olive oil
  • 200g risotto rice (you can use jasmine rice if you don’t want to buy special rice)
  • 500ml chicken stock
  • 50g butter
  • Tomato sauce leftover from Meatballs recipe, save, save, save!
  • 100g Mascarpone cheese
  • 25g Parmesan cheese
  • Sea salt and Fresh pepper

RECIPE

Heat up the olive oil in the pot, then add the rice and coat the oil on the grains evenly. This really flavours the rice and makes sure they stay nice and loose and don’t clump up together like congee.
DSC04583

Next you just heat up your stock in a separate pot, and begin pouring in one ladle at a time.
Mix it well and allow the rice to soak up almost all the liquid before adding in more. This step should take up to 18 min to get the rice fully cooked.
At the same time as doing this, I heated up my tomato sauce which I used in my meatballs recipe. You can also make a simple tomato sauce by heating up some small tomatoes in a pan until soft, add some butter for flavour and texture, then pass through a sieve to smooth out. I still prefer my sauce though.

Once your sauce is ready, add it to the risotto and then fold in the mascarpone cheese and parmesan cheese. Adjust your seasoning, and you’re ready to go!
DSC04587
DSC04591
As for your chicken, it’s very simple. Just take a full chicken breast, butterfly it (this means you’re slicing the breast horizontally through half of the thicker parts, then folding over to flatten. Make sure you cut the tendons along the middle of the breast before cooking, as it will make it curl up in cooking.
Then I season my chicken with flour mixed with salt & pepper, then dip in mayo, parmesan and panko mix. This gives it a really nice crunchy crust that just is just unbelievable even on its own.
When your chicken is fully coated, fry in a large pan with a couple tablespoons of olive oil. When cooked through, transfer to a piece of paper towel first to take up some of the oil. Then cut and serve on top of your risotto.
DSC04586
DSC04592
This was a really great dish with very simple ingredients, but loaded with flavour. My only recommendation for next time would be to check how much salt is going into it. I found that with my chicken stock mixed with my already made tomato sauce, it was a tad bit salty. Next time I would either use low sodium chicken stock, or replace some stock with some water.

Leave a Reply

