Canapés Night

4

I wanted to make something really simple and easy to eat tonight. I didn’t have a lot of time and I wanted to get a lot of flavours into a small bite. I decided to make crostinis with some meat, cheese and my San Marzano tomato spread.

It was a unique day of cooking because I had to keep the house odourless for one night, so I cooked everything on the patio on a small gas burner.

INGREDIENTS

For the spread, I used:

  • 1 can San Marzano Tomatoes (These are from San Marzano in Italy, which is known for its volcanic soil, giving them a very unique flavour)
  • 1 can black pitted olives
  • A couple sundried tomatoes, chopped
  • 2T capers
  • 1 red and yellow bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 serano pepper, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 2T tomato paste
  • 2T dried oregano
  • 1t dried corriander seed
  • 1t dried thyme
  • 1t chili flakes
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • salt & pepper to taste

DSC04725
DSC04730
DSC04732

RECIPE

After you have prepared all your ingredients, heat your pot with a little olive oil.
Add your serano pepper and garlic first to bring out all flavours. After about 30 seconds, add the bell peppers, capers, sun toms, olives and tomato paste, cook for another 2 minutes until peppers become soft.
Deglaze the pot with your white wine, reduce, and add the rest of the ingredients. Let simmer for about 10 minutes.
DSC04733
At this time, put your slices of baguette into a bake tray and drizzle with olive and truffle oil. Sprinkle with parmesan cheese and fresh rosemary, then season with salt and pepper.
Bake for approx 5 min at 200C. For the topping, we used a dry white wine and garlic sausage. I personally didn’t enjoy the dry sausage with this canapé, simply because the crostini is already quite hard, then the sausage is also very chewy as well so it made for a difficult bite.
When everything was done cooking, I just topped each crostini with a slice of sausage and a piece of fresh sliced parmesan, then used the tomato spread as a dip.

The sauce was delicious because of the special tomatoes I used, as well as the other bold flavours that were added. I saved more than half of this sauce to be used in a pasta dish another day. Tomato sauce left in the fridge for too long will begin to fizzle and bubbles will form at the surface. I just froze my sauce to use for a later day.
DSC04737
DSC04741
DSC04744
DSC04746

4 comments on “Canapés Night

  1. guest says:

    May I ask where you bought your San Marzano tomatoes from? Thank you!

Leave a Reply

