WIS – Gourmet Warehouse! 18,000 Kitchen Items!

I was driving downtown one day through Hastings St when I spotted a place called Gourmet Warehouse. I asked Jenny to look it up on Google and see what this was. We found out they sold kitchen supplies, so we decided to make a quick stop to check it out. Turns out, this was one of the best decisions I’ve made! This place is a real hidden gem to the general public, but I’m sure it’s probably quite well known in the culinary world in Vancouver. It’s a large warehouse building just off the corner of Clark and Hastings. There’s street parking in the front and some in the back alley as well.

To our surprise, this place was packed! Even though it’s in a very industrial-type area, it still manages to stay very busy. I really liked that the people who work here are so friendly. The moment we walked in, we were greeted. I told the woman it was our first time there, and she gave us a quick walk-through of what they had in the store, which was really nice. She told me there was a whopping 18,000 items that they carried in store. This ranged from all sorts of kitchen supplies and tools, to very exotic foods from all around the world. You could really tell that employees here really care about their jobs. They are all very well educated about all the products that they sell, and really take the time to listen to your needs and help you come up with the right solution, not just make a quick sale. The service at the cashiers was also really efficient as well. Although there was quite a long line, something similar to what you’d see at Winners, they were still very fast getting through the long lineup.

I felt like I could have spent the entire day there with that many choices. We settled on a few small items. We got 6 sealable jars, an ice cream scoop, extra virgin olive oil and San Marzano tomatoes. I had to stop myself before going wild and buying any more. There was just so much to choose from! Here’s a quick look at some of the stuff I bought.

DSC04750

After getting home and filling them! I love jars! They are so neat and organized. They make my kitchen look like I have my own cooking show. It’s very tough to choose though. What do you guys think?
DSC04752

What’s really nice about this store too is that when we were paying, they actually take the time to wrap each piece individually and give you a nice and easy to carry box. How helpful!

UPDATE** We returned to Gourmet Warehouse a few short weeks after and purchased a few more jars! I’m going to need a much bigger kitchen.
IMG_20131204_232252

One really nice think I found about their website is that they actually give you tons of recipes to try for great dishes. Also they sell cooking classes throughout the year. The site is really easy to navigate and there’s lots of content to flow through. Overall a really fantastic store if you’re looking for ANYTHING in the kitchen. I highly recommend!

Gourmet Warehouse
1340 East Hastings Street
Vancouver, British Columbia

Monday-Sunday: 10AM-6PM
Statutory Holidays: 10AM-5PM
We are closed Easter Sunday, Christmas Day, Boxing Day, and New Year’s Day

Phone: 604-253-3022
Fax: 604-255-4345
Email: websales@gourmetwarehouse.ca
www.gourmetwarehouse.ca

Leave a Reply

