Dim Sum at Dai Tung 大同海鮮酒家

2

Dim Sum at Dai Tung on Kingsway has been a place that I can return to year after year and never be disappointed. Because I don’t live in that area, and there are other places for dim sum closer to me, I rarely have the opportunity nowadays to go for some delicious authentic dim sum. The biggest reason I think that I haven’t been coming to Dai Tung for quite a while is due to the cost. There is one particular dim sum restaurant (that I won’t name in this post) that has particularly good dim sum at an amazing price. Although Dai Tung is not the most expensive dim sums I’ve had, it is still quite pricey for what you get.

Usually, when we come to Dai Tung, it is absolutely packed and there is a very long wait. Parking is also a major issue here. They are just on Kingsway right after Knight st and parking is very limited. This day we chose was quite early in the morning on a saturday, and there was not too many others at the restaurant yet. We sat down promptly and did not wait long for our tea or to be served. Dai Tung has everything that we normally like, except for one of my personal favourites, Chinese donut wrapped in rice roll. This is really what gets me every time. They serve other variations of rice rolls, but I don’t understand why that cannot acomodate such a small request to a customer that would like it.

We were a little short on time today, and didn’t want to break our wallets here, so we just got a few simple dishes. I ordered Har Gau (steamed shrimp dumplings), Lor Mai Gai (sticky rice with mixed meat wrapped in a banana leaf), Wu Gok (Fried taro dumpling with minced pork), Char Siu So (BBQ Pork baked in pastry), and finally the traditional Dan Tat (Egg Tart). All the food came fairly quick and was steaming hot and fresh. Overall I can’t complain about anything on our visit to Dai Tung. They have consistently always delivered good quality food to me over the years. The one concern I had though was that even though there was only a few tables say when we were there, around 5 or 6, the service was still quite slow to come around. There were many staff hustling around the restaurant, but it was hard to hail one down to give us some service. This was a little disappointing.

20131215_10104220131215_10042220131215_10041620131215_10312720131215_100434

Quality – 5 of 5

Ingenuity – 4 of 5

Atmosphere – 4 of 5

Service – 3 of 5

Value – 3 of 5

Overall – 3.8 of 5

Dai Tung Chinese Seafood Restaurant 大同海鮮酒家 on Urbanspoon

2 comments on “Dim Sum at Dai Tung 大同海鮮酒家

  1. cgmc70 says:

    These are all my faves too, including the donut rice roll, topped w/ soy sauce!

  2. Bill Smith says:

    The food choice I enjoy. I have been to one Dim Sum close to that location before – but it was packed with folks.

Leave a Reply

